Best Paper Award to Mrs. Sunaina Patil, Ph.D. Candidate, Ms. Sahana Naik, B.Tech (Chemical Engineering) and Dr Hari Prasad Dasari of Chemical Engineering Department in International Chemical Engineering Conference 2021 head at NIT Jalandhar, September 16-19 (Online Mode)

Mrs. Sunaina Patil, Ph.D. Candidate, Ms. Sahana Naik, B.Tech (Chemical Engineering), and Dr. Hari Prasad Dasari of Chemical Engineering Department received Best Paper Award in International Chemical Engineering Conference, 2021, 100 Glorious Years of Chemical Engineering and Technology, held at NIT Jalandhar, September 16-19, for the paper titled " Negative effect of Niobium doped ceria on Soot Oxidation Activity

Best Paper Award to Dr. Hari Mahalingam, Assosiate Professor and his Ph.D. students Sukriti Mishra and Manasa Mandhan of Department of Chemical Engineering in International Conference held at NIT Surat, Gujarat during August 6-8, 2021

Dr. Hari mahalingam, Assosiate Professor and his Ph.D. students, Sukriti Mishra and Manasa Mandhan of Department of Chemical Engineering have been awarded the Econeeds foundation sponsored best oral presentation in the international conference on advances in sustainable research for energy and environment management (ASREEM 2021) held at National Institute of Technology Surat, Gujarat for a paper titled "Highly efficient solar light-driven BiOX (X=Br/Cl/I) and BiOY heterojunction (Y=Br/Cl) nano photocatalysts in suspended and immobilized forms for malachite green dye wastewater treatment".

Best Paper Award to Ms. Deeksha Mathew, M.Tech (Research) student and Professor Vidya Shetty K of  Department of Chemical Engineering  in  International Conference held at  NIT Trichy

Ms. Deeksha Mathew, M.Tech (Research) student and Prof.Vidya Shetty K of  Department of Chemical Engineering have received a  Best Paper Award in International Conference on Recent Technologies and Advanced Materials for Green Energy and Sustainable Environment (RTAMGESE-Online)organized by Department of Chemical Engineering,National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli for a Paper titled “Visible light irradiated photocatalytic reduction of CO2 using novel PANI/CuO nanocomposite in aqueous medium”

About the Department 

The Department of Chemical Engineering in National Institute of Technology KarnatakaSurathkal was started in the year 1965 with Professor M G Subba Rau as its Founder Head of the Department. With his practical and innovative mind Professor Rau laid a solid foundation to build a very good department to make competent professionals graduating from the institution. A well balanced curriculum having both theory and practice, good infrastructure, well qualified and friendly faculty have been the hall mark of the department right from its inception. When the institution was transformed from Karnataka Regional Engineering College to National Institute of Technology Karnataka, in order to keep pace with the changing needs, a lot of infrastructure, in terms of additional space and modern instruments, have been built utilizing funds available from Ministry of HRDGOITEQIP,TIFAC-CORE, DST,DBT,CSIR,MOEF etc.

The department offers an under graduate program in Chemical Engineering and three post graduate programs with specializations in Chemical Engineering, Environmental Sciences and Technology and Industrial Biotechnology. In addition, M.Tech (Research) and Doctoral programmers are also offered. The department also offers product testing and industrial consultancy.

The students graduating from the department are well placed in profession both in India and abroad. Also, a good number of students pursue higher studies in India as well as in other countries like USA, Canada, Europe, Singapore, South Korea and Australia.


The vision of the department of Chemical Engineering at NITK is to be a leading chemical engineering department in the county and be known worldwide for its quality education and research and to produce graduates who contribute to the needs of industry, the scientific community and society


To provide students with quality engineering education, so as to enable them to benefit the society through their service and expertise to the profession of chemical engineering and related fields in industry, business, research and academia.

To expand the base of engineering knowledge and to serve the needs of society through basic and applied research


Contact us

Dr. P E Jagadeeshbabu, Associate Professor and Head
Department of Chemical Engineering, NITK, Surathkal
P. O. Srinivasnagar, Mangalore - 575 025
Karnataka, India.

  • Hot line: +91-0824-2474057

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.